SEN Areas of Need

The 2014 SEND Code of Practice outlines four areas of special educational need that include a range of difficulties and conditions:

  • Communication & Interaction
  • Cognition & Learning
  • Social, Emotional & Mental Health Difficulties
  • Sensory and/or Physical

Please click on the section below that give examples of these areas of need, complete with descriptions and links to suggested websites for you to gain further information.

The code states that:

"Many children and young people have difficulties that fit clearly into one of these areas; some have needs that span two or more areas; for others the precise nature of their need may not be clear at the outset.”